Template Shadow

Shaw Heights Middle School

Achieving Excellence

The social studies department at Shaw Heights Middle School covers all history, economics, geography and civics content for 6th, 7th and 8th grade. As a department we focus on developing workforce readiness skills, post secondary education readiness, critical thinking strategies and group collaboration. Each grade level covers the Colorado state curriculum and standard. Below is a description of what each level covers and the teachers who teach each level.  

Level 6
Level 6 covers western hemisphere history, civic, geography and economics. This includes Meso American cultures like the Inca, Mayan and Aztec, exploration and trade. 
Level 7
Level 7 content covers eastern hemisphere history, civics, geography and economics. This include, pre-history, Mesopotamia, Egypt, India, China, Greece, Rome and Medieval Europe.  
Level 8
Level 8 content covers the American history, civic, economics and geography. Students start with the reasons for the American revolution and continue on covering the civil war and great depression.  
 Teachers: Ms. Duran and Mr. DonnahooTeachers: Ms. Duran, Ms. Griego and Mr. Chesis Teachers: Ms. Griego, Mr. Capra and Mr. Chesis
Template Shadow