Return to Headlines

Martinez, Yanos and Murphy Elected to the Board of Education

Voters elected incumbent Board of Education member Christine Martinez to the Westminster Public Schools Board of Education along with newcomers Audrey Yanos and Marty Beth Murphy during the November 7 Adams County General Election. 

The trio will join Aaron Martin and Dan Orecchio on the board when they are sworn into office at the Tuesday, November 28 Board of Education meeting. 

The trio ran as the MMY slate, telling voters they believed that WPS was on the right track and the district’s innovative Competency Based System (CBS) was working well. 

Voters agreed. 

“I am so honored and proud to continue to serve our district, our community, our staff and our students,”  said Martinez, who has one child in the district. “We have such amazing opportunities happening at WPS and I’m excited I get to spend the next four years working to expand those opportunities.” 

Yanos has three children in Westminster Public Schools and has been very active in school Parent Teachers Associations. She says she can’t wait to begin the learning process and making a difference on the Board of Education. “I don’t take voters trust and faith lightly and will do my best to serve my community with thoughtfulness, kindness, respect and honor,” she said. 

Murphy is a retired school teacher from the Mapleton School District where she also served as the head of four teacher unions. Two of her children attended Westminster Public Schools. “From what I've seen and heard (during the campaign) my goals, dreams for students and vision for WPS align with what the staff, district leadership and other Board members believe and live every day,” she said.

Yanos and Murphy will replace outgoing BOE members Ken Ciancio and Max Math who were term limited. 

Anthony Sisneros and Charles and Brenda Gallegos ran as the ABC slate. On election night, they issued a statement congratulating the winners and wishing them well. 

Unofficial Results 

Westminster Public Schools Board of Education 

Mary Beth Murphy 6,570 

Christine Martinez 5,997

Audrey Yanos 5,480

Anthony Sisneros 3,662

Charles Gallegos 3,361

Brenda Gallegos 3,321