Return to Headlines

Westy Students Take Home Several Prizes at TSA Conference

The Technology Student Association (TSA) held its annual state conference this past weekend in the Denver Tech Center.  Students from our Biomedical Science, Engineering, and Computer Science pathway(s) attended the conference. This conference was a culmination of months of hard work that students have been demonstrating in and out of the classroom. Westminster High School sent 22 student representatives to the conference to compete in several events.  Our students qualified for the semifinals in eight events. Qualifiers included Audrey Arellano and Gerald Logan taking home top honors in Video Game Design with their virtual reality boxing game. Karen Manzo and Karina Lucero Pena came in 3rd place in Architectural Design for their model of a community center and Audrey Arellano and Gavin Permann came in 3rd place for Technology Problem Solving, which required students to design a free-standing tower with limited materials.

 In addition to their competitive accomplishments, we are extremely proud of how well all students represented Westminster High School in their professionalism and support for each other.  At the beginning of the weekend many of the 22 students did not know each other, but throughout the conference they helped each other make final touches to their presentations, they cheered each other on at of the public events like the catapult testing, fashion show, and film festival, and were models professionalism and sportsmanship at all times.   At the end of the conference many students commented that they are looking forward to attending next year’s conference and building on their experiences and the relationships they started this year. Congratulations to all of the following TSA members for a job well-done! 

Lizbeth Cardona, Karen Manzo, Karina Lucero Pena, Aonani Francisco, Oanh Vu, Michelle Le, Hannah Nguyen, Laura Nguyen, Ken Inthavong, Brandon Pierce, Colin Gillogly, Giovanni Romero, Gerald Logan, Audrey Arellano, Jayson Stokes, Jason Valencia, Jason Phantharangsy, Alexis Pimentel, Gavin Permann, Victoria Butler, Naomi Butler, Jonathan Miranda Cano.